Maine misdemeanor Attorney Robert H. Prince takes care to provide his clients with high-quality services personalized for their unique needs. He is available for professional, courteous, and efficient consultation, Monday through Saturday.
Maine Misdemeanor Attorney
If you or a loved one has been convicted of a crime in Maine, it can certainly feel as if it’s the end. Although felonies in Maine carry many life-long consequences, misdemeanor charges are less severe. If convicted, however, the defendant may be looking at less than a year in a county jail as well as the charge on his/her criminal record.
Because of imprisonment, fines, and the criminal record, among other reasons, it is essential to defend the charges against you with a leading Maine misdemeanor attorney. Lawyer Robert H. Prince has defended hundreds of Maine residents charged with a misdemeanor, and we are prepared to give your case a no-stones-unturned, 110% approach that explores every aspect of the charge, challenges the prosecution’s narrative, and puts your interests at the forefront of our legal strategy.
Classifications of Maine Misdemeanors
In Maine, “misdemeanors” are categorized into Class D and Class E crimes. Class A, B, and C crimes are felony offenses punishable by more than a year imprisonment. Class D and E crimes, on the other hand, generally involve less than a year in jail.
- Class D Misdemeanors: Under Maine’s criminal code, a crime classified as a Class D misdemeanor is punishable by up to a year imprisonment and/or a $2,000 fine. Examples of Class D misdemeanors may include possession of 5 to 100 marijuana plants, assault, operating under the influence (OUI), and theft of property valued between $1,000 and $2,000.
- Class E Misdemeanors: The lowest form of a misdemeanor in Maine. A crime classified as Class E is punishable by up to six months imprisonment and/or a $1,000 fine. Examples of Class E misdemeanors may include prostitution, disorderly conduct, operating a vehicle after license suspension, and theft of property valued less than $1,000.
It is important to note that misdemeanors can be raised to a felony level if certain objects are used in an assault or if the defendant is in possession of a lot of scheduled drugs, for instance.
Statute of Limitations
For Class D and Class E misdemeanors, the Statute of Limitations in Maine is three years after the alleged crime was committed. As such, the statute of limitations does not refer to when the defendant has been charged, but when the alleged crime transpired.
Defend Your Freedoms With Maine Misdemeanor Attorney Robert Prince
A misdemeanor charge on your criminal record can wreak havoc on your life, from employment and school applications to some professional licenses. To fight the charges brought against you, it is essential to contact an experienced Maine misdemeanor attorney as soon as you are arrested or find out that you’re under investigation.
Maine lawyer Robert H. Prince is prepared to work with you, one-on-one, to professionally and aggressively defend your case in courts. To speak with attorney Prince about the details surrounding your charges, you can call our Maine law office today at (617) 721-9141. Free consultations are available.