Attorney Robert H. Prince takes care to provide his clients with high quality services personalized for their unique needs. He is available for professional, courteous, and efficient consultation, Monday through Saturday.
Law Office of Attorney Robert H. Prince Services
Navigate Your Options With an Experienced Attorney!
With virtually endless countryside and plentiful, uncrowded city streets, it can be tempting to break a traffic law. Nonetheless, whether you were late for work, ran a red light at an empty intersection, or you had a few drinks before heading across town to your home, if you’re convicted of a traffic violation in New Hampshire, you may be facing serious penalties. Fees quickly mount and points from tickets can massively increase your insurance premiums, and if the violation is serious enough or if you’ve been convicted of several traffic violations, you could have your license suspended or revoked.
As one of New Hampshire’s leading traffic violations attorneys, Robert H. Prince will stand by your side and provide a comprehensive, aggressive defense. With an impressive legal career spanning several decades, Attorney Prince will help you navigate your legal options in regards to a traffic violation, including representing you in traffic court to contest your ticket or review a license explosion. If you’ve been convicted of a traffic violation, contact the Law Office of Attorney Robert H. Prince today at 617-721-9141 or 603-401-0409.
New Hampshire Rules of the Road
Traffic laws in New Hampshire are governed by New Hampshire Statues Title XXI: Motor Vehicles, Chapter 256: Rules of the Road. It is through this state-official document that you can find most of the laws and regulations, ranging from official hand-and-arm signals to racing on highways. Although it is a long document, it is the responsibility of New Hampshire drivers to learn and know what rules apply to both a driver as well as others on the road. Some of the most common rules of the road include:
- Speeding in a construction zone
- Reckless driving
- Negligent driving
- Expired license
- Expired registration
- Running a red light or stop sign
- Failure to signal a lange change
- Failure to wear a seatbelt
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Driving without a license
- Driving with a suspended license
- Moving violations
Although Driving Under the Influence (DUI) occurs on New Hampshire roads, the laws governing alcohol and drug impairment are found within New Hampshire Statutes Chapter 256-A.
Potential Traffic Violation Punishments
Because of the wide variety of traffic violations, and the severity of consequence, fines and points are wholly dependent on the specific traffic violation as well as extraneous circumstances, such as previous violations or level of severity of the violation. For example, if you’re driving on a New Hampshire Interstate, where the speed limit has a maximum of 65mph, exceeding the limit by 1-5mph may result in a $50, while exceeding the limit by 26mph or more may result in a minimum fine of $350 with mandatory appearance in court. Following are some examples of potential traffic violation punishments:
Disobeying an officer: If you refuse to comply to an officer’s request for name, address, date of birth, and name and address of vehicle owner, you could have your license suspended, arrested for a Class A Misdemeanor, and fined no less than $500.
Following Too Closely: Also known as tailgating, drivers shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent. Following too closely can result in a fine of $100.
Overtaking and Passing a School Bus: For a first offense, drivers can be fined no less than $100 but no more than $750. For a subsequent offense, drivers can be fined no less than $250 and no more than $1,000.
Getting Your License Back in New Hampshire
DUI is generally considered a criminal matter in New Hampshire courts, and convicted offenders could face hefty fines, restricted driving privileges, and possibly jail time. However, there are administrative elements of DUIs that are essential to New Hampshire traffic laws. For example, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol may result in a license suspension from 90 days to two years. To get your license back after suspension, or if you want to contest your suspended driver’s license, there are several different options available to you.
If you need to contest a suspension, you can request a New Hampshire DMV administrative hearing (this has no effect on any court hearings). You must contact the New Hampshire Bureau of Hearings within 30 days after your arrest or receiving your suspension notice. If you’re an uninsured driver, you have 10 days to make this request.
Your specific reinstate requirements depend on the circumstances that led to the suspension of your license. For example, if you lost your license due to DUI, you may need to take an alcohol education and treatment program. In most cases, after the duration of the mandated suspension, you’ll have to pay a reinstatement fee and file the SR22 proof of insurance with the DMV.
Contact the Law Office of Attorney Robert H. Prince
If you’ve been charged with a traffic violation, you need to reinstate your license, or you want to contest a violation, it is essential to contact an experienced traffic violations attorney as soon as possible. With decades of experience, Attorney Robert H. Prince offers comprehensive legal representation and consultation. Don’t let a traffic violation negatively impact your life later on, and take care of the situation before it escalates to something more serious. Call the Law Office of Attorney Robert H. Prince today at 617-721-9141 or 603-401-0409 for a free consultation.