Massachusetts Misdemeanor Attorney
If you or someone you know has been charged with a misdemeanor in Massachusetts, it is important to understand the criminal process in this state and the potential penalties the alleged offender may be facing. Unlike a felony, a guilty conviction for a misdemeanor won’t result in multi-year imprisonment in state prisons, although you still may be facing jail time and other penalties.
Additionally, the alleged offender will receive a criminal record for a misdemeanor conviction, which may affect school, occupation, or housing in his/her future. Due to these severe penalties, it is important to fight these charges with the legal guidance and representation of an experienced Massachusetts misdemeanor attorney.
Misdemeanor Crimes in Massachusetts
There are two classifications of misdemeanor crimes in Massachusetts, including Level 1 and Level 2 misdemeanors. A Level 1 misdemeanor generally features a maximum penalty of six months or less, and a Level 2 misdemeanor can include a penalty of more than six months. Regardless of the level, most misdemeanors in the state will result in no more than three years in a house of corrections or a county jail. Some misdemeanor crimes in Massachusetts include:
- Criminal harassment
- Driving Under the Influence
- Shoplifting (under $250)
- Attempt to Commit a Crime
- Civil rights violations
- Underground storage tank violations
- Some property damages
- Drug possession or intent to sell
- Drug paraphernalia
This is by no means an exhaustive list. To see the full list of misdemeanor crimes and potential penalties in Massachusetts, please refer to the Felony and Misdemeanor Master Crime List.
Clearing Your Record of a Misdemeanor
Although a misdemeanor does go on a criminal record, there is a precise record sealing process that makes documentation of a criminal history inaccessible to most individuals, including employers. With a sealed record, you can also legally say that you have no prior convictions in most private and public job applications.
To qualify to have your record sealed, you must have completed all proceedings related to the misdemeanor, including probation, by at least 10 years prior to the request. You also cannot have been found guilty for a criminal offense in those 10 years (aside from motor vehicle offenses where the penalty didn’t exceed a small fine). Firearm violations, however, cannot be sealed in Massachusetts.
Also, if you were convicted as a juvenile (under 18 years of age), you must only wait three years to have your record sealed.
For a Free Consultation, Contact Attorney Robert H. Prince Today
If you’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor in Massachusetts, you need to understand the state criminal proceedings, potential penalties, and any other consequences related to the offense. As such, with the legal representation of criminal attorney Robert H. Prince, we’ll make sure that you’re completely informed on the upcoming processes.
At the same time, however, we’ll also devote extensive resources into an investigation of the circumstances surrounding the arrest, looking for violations of your rights and other mishaps that may lead the court to drop the charges. Lastly, with extensive experience in Massachusetts courts, attorney Prince ensures an aggressive, no-stones-unturned criminal defense with your interests leading our legal strategies.
For a free consultation with attorney Robert H. Prince for your misdemeanor charge, call our law office today at (617) 721-9141 or (603) 401-0409.